Ch 10 Linker Error

Tagged: 

This topic contains 6 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  thasanty 2 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

M.Rafi
    Participant

When I was running ch.10 files I got a linker error. Just saying write now that I never use the method explained in the book so I am new to how this work but back to the point. The error was something like this “DirectXTK not found” or something
    slimier to this. Before this event happen I did this:

I download the Ch.10 files.
    Open the build Rendering.
    And run the Game solution first.

Then the linker error happen.
    I don’t know what do. So I really need help so I can advanced in the book.

Paul Varcholik
    Keymaster

Hello M. Rafi,

Did you download only the Chapter10 folder? Because most of the code from the chapters (including Chapter 10) requires the “external” folder one directory above. More specifically, your folder structure should resemble:

YourDownloadLocation\
    Chapter10\
    external

The external folder includes the DirectXTK library, Open Asset Import Library (used in Chapters 15 – 22) and the Effects 11 Library.

Paul

M.Rafi
    Participant

Oh I thought that DirectXTK was already compiled with the files.

M.Rafi
    Participant

Hello again.

I did what you said and there was another linker problem. LNK1104 could not open DirectXTK.lib I don’t know what happening. I try compiling the DirectXTK project but that did not fix it. So I need help again.

Paul Varcholik
    Keymaster

I’m still thinking that you might have the wrong directory structure. The external folder must be one directory above the Chapter10 folder. My last post removed the spacing in front of the directories I listed which may have been confusing.

Here’s an image of what your directory structure should look like (if you’d downloaded the entire repository).

Directory Structure