Only get black window

Home Forums Real-Time 3D Rendering with DirectX and HLSL Only get black window

This topic contains 10 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Paul Varcholik 2 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

bladematthewslp
    Participant

This is my first time firing up any project. I am running Chapter 14’s solution on Windows 7 with Visual Studio 2013. I set the CubeDemo as the startup projected. When I run the program, I only get a black window with no cube or words.

The DirectX Diagnostic Tool says I have DirectX 11. I do not get any errors in the Output window, but I get this warning:

FXC : warning X4717: Effects deprecated for D3DCompiler_47

Here is a screenshot of my result:
    http://screencast.com/t/u7fNy0Ge8

Paul Varcholik
    Keymaster

I suspect you might have a shader compilation error. Do you see any warnings/errors, displayed in the output window, at runtime?

More specifically, I’m wondering if your graphics card/driver supports shader model 5. The BasicEffect.fx file employed in the Chapter 14 demos (indeed, all of the shaders in this section of the book), uses shader model 5. Try editing the BasicEffect.fx file, in the Library project, and the invocation of D3DCompileFromFile, in the CubeDemo project, to use shader model 4.

Paul

bladematthewslp
    Participant

Hello, I changed the code in the BasicEffect.fx file to have “vs_4_0”.
    I also changed the shader model in the D3DCompileFromFile function to “”fx_4_0”.

When I run the project now, I get the following error:
    http://screencast.com/t/o130JVoi

When I rebuild the project, I do get some warnings, which are:

FXC : warning X4717: Effects deprecated for D3DCompiler_47
    c:\program files (x86)\windows kits\8.1\include\um\dinput.h: DIRECTINPUT_VERSION undefined. Defaulting to version 0x0800

Paul Varcholik
    Keymaster